Keeping Pace with 2023 | #BrunchBookChallenge

The year 2023 has been such a roller-coaster that it was only in the last week I felt I could finally catch my breath. Even so, despite the breakneck speed with which this year has zipped past, the high note it ended on gives me absolutely no regrets. I woke up on New Year’s Day feeling unbelievably calm and relaxed, with a basketful of hopes and dreams for 2024.

Looking back, I know I haven’t checked-off everything on my list, needing to move them into this year. Even so, I more than made up by accomplishing unplanned additions. Read on as I share some of these personal achievements.

MY LOVE FOR ALL THINGS KOREAN:

Language Study

My Korean language study was yet again the #1 agenda all year through. We had three semesters in the last twelve months with barely a few weeks’ break between semesters. It was a struggle to keep up with my reading while the semesters were underway since most of my time was taken over by a strict study schedule. With two classes every week and hundreds of new words, spellings, meanings and pronunciation to memorise, there was a lot to cover between classes and prepare for the next week.

I had signed up to these classes in 2021, during the pandemic, when the program was run online. For my final semester in Oct-Dec’23, I attended offline classes at the Korean Cultural Centre, and this was a completely different experience. We had more opportunities to speak up in class and interact with other students which was limited in online mode.

The Korean language program conducted by the King Sejong Institute (a foundation established by the South Korean govt. that promotes the study of Korean language around the world) comprises of eight course books. Each of these books are taught over a three month semester and cultivates the language learner’s skill in reading, listening, writing and speaking.

In December 2023, I completed the entire program and graduated from the institute with a distinction as well as a perfect attendance record.

IMG_20240101_155622_729         IMG_20240101_153853_614

I am so glad I didn’t listen to the devil inside my head who kept pushing me to give up when it got too hard. I’m incredibly proud of ploughing on and finally emerging victorious on the other side of this two-and-a-half-year journey.

As I shared last year, I intend to appear for the TOPIK II examination in 2024. Not only will it help me identify my proficiency level, it will also keep me motivated to not give up on my language study, and continue improving my skills.

KDramas

Of course, the thing that got me interested in Korean language is also an important aspect of my life – KDramas. What started as an addictive medium of entertainment is now also a study tool. My mom and I watched dozens of Korean dramas and films and I have been sharing reviews every week on my social media. You can find these under my Instagram reels. I will also be posting a list of my 2023 favourites later this week. If you’re a Kdrama fan, you don’t want to miss it. 

34-56c. Mitch Rapp Series - SquareREADING

With all the time spent on studying, I planned for a lower annual reading target with only 30 books. I thought if I could do the #AquaFlavoursBingeReads, it would have to be over and above the 30 books so it could add to my total count for the year. For this year’s binge-read I chose the Mitch Rapp series which was a collection of 23 books.

CRAFTING BOOK-PAIRINGS

With respect to book pairings, my signature #bookstagram theme, I’ve made some new and interesting projects this year using different creative techniques. I’m sharing a list below:

  1. 2D and 3D Papercraft: pie slice, painted ladies, Brooklyn bridge, tteokbokki cup, dress form, post box, dollhouse, Chinese hand-fan, camping set, gerbera flowers, lantern, vintage bookshop, fishing trawler, UFO, gazebo, kingfisher bird, honeycomb orange, chamfered corner cubes, chef’s knife and chopping board, CCTV camera
  2. Layered Papercraft: butterfly
  3. Cross-stitch embroidery: antique-style silhouette, Namdaemun (Korean fortress gate)
  4. Origami: dolphin and shark, chess set, elephant, Chinese lantern, fortune cookies
  5. 3D Chinese Origami: sunflower

In addition to these, I tried a new crafting technique this year: combining Kirigami with Sliceform. I made a beautiful floral basket using these two techniques together.

Another special project I made was the 3D papercraft Rolex watch. Despite being made entirely of paper this was so close to the original I couldn’t believe how realistic it turned out. 

I’ve linked the Instagram post for each of the craft projects listed above so you can click through to view in detail.

READING THROUGH 2023

The only two reading challenges I do every year are HTBrunch’s #BrunchBookChallenge, and my own #AquaFlavoursBingeReads which has become a personal reading tradition since 2017.

I closed 2023 with a final count of 56 books read across various genres. I’ve added a book cover collage of all the titles for a quick glance.

Below the collage is the list of all 56 books, each linked to my review as posted on the blog this past year. Towards the end of each of my book review posts, I include a note on the significance of the craft project I have paired with said book, along with details on the crafting technique and materials used for the bookish craft-pairing.

2023 Brunch Book Challenge Portrait - Resized

LIST OF BOOKS READ IN 2023

1. We All Want Impossible Things – Catherine Newman
2. Between, You, Me & the Four Walls – Moni Mohsin
3. Chuckle Merry Spin: Us in the U.S. – Khyrunnisa A.
4. No Life for a Lady – Hannah Dolby
5. The Dolphin and the Shark – Namita Thapar
6. Her Deadly Game – Robert Dugoni
7. Pineapple Street – Jenny Jackson
8. Why Can’t Elephants be Red? – Vani Tripathi Tikoo
9. Yellowface – Rebecca F Kuang
10. I Want to Die but I Want to Eat Tteokbokki – Baek Sehee
11. Don’t Believe the Hype – Natalie Lewis
12. Mrs Porter Calling – AJ Pearce
13. The Minuscule Mansion of Myra Malone – Audrey Burges
14. Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers – Jesse Q. Sutanto
15. The No-Show – Beth O’Leary
16. A Game of Lies – Clare Mackintosh
17. I’ll Leave You With This – Kylie Ladd
18. I’m Not Done with You Yet – Jesse Q. Sutanto
19. In the Language of Remembering: The Inheritance of Partition – Aanchal Malhotra
20. The Air Raid Book Club – Annie Lyons
21. The Last Line (Tracy Crosswhite 08.5) – Robert Dugoni
22. What She Found (Tracy Crosswhite 09) – Robert Dugoni
23. Spaceboy – David Walliams
24. The Eminently Forgettable Life of Mrs Pankajam – Meera Rajagopalan
25. Dial A for Aunties (Aunties 01) – Jesse Q. Sutanto
26. Four Aunties and a Wedding (Aunties 02) – Jesse Q. Sutanto
27. Pachinko – Min Jin Lee
28. The Birds of the Delhi Area – Sudhir Vyas
29. Heating & Cooling- 52 Micro-Memoirs – Beth Ann Fennelly
30. Prodigal Son (OrphanX 06) – Gregg Hurwitz
31. Dark Horse (OrphanX 07) – Gregg Hurwitz
32. The Last Orphan (OrphanX 08) – Gregg Hurwitz
33. Knife Skills for Beginners – Orlando Murrin
34. American Assassin (Mitch Rapp #1) – Vince Flynn
35. Kill Shot (Mitch Rapp #2) – Vince Flynn
36. Term Limits (chronologically Mitch Rapp #2.5 parallel universe) – Vince Flynn
37. Transfer of Power (Mitch Rapp #3) – Vince Flynn
38. The Third Option (Mitch Rapp #4) – Vince Flynn
39. Separation of Power (Mitch Rapp #5) – Vince Flynn
40. Executive Power (Mitch Rapp #6) – Vince Flynn
41. Memorial Day (Mitch Rapp #7) – Vince Flynn
42. Consent to Kill (Mitch Rapp #8) – Vince Flynn
43. Act of Treason (Mitch Rapp #9) – Vince Flynn
44. Protect and Defend (Mitch Rapp #10) – Vince Flynn
45. Extreme Measures (Mitch Rapp #11) – Vince Flynn
46. Pursuit of Honor (Mitch Rapp #12) – Vince Flynn
47. The Last Man (Mitch Rapp #13) – Vince Flynn
48. The Survivor (Mitch Rapp #14) – Kyle Mills
49. Order To Kill (Mitch Rapp #15) – Kyle Mills
50. Enemy Of The State (Mitch Rapp #16) – Kyle Mills
51. Red War (Mitch Rapp #17) – Kyle Mills
52. Lethal Agent (Mitch Rapp #18) – Kyle Mills
53. Total Power (Mitch Rapp #19) – Kyle Mills
54. Enemy at the Gates (Mitch Rapp #20) – Kyle Mills
55. Oath Of Loyalty (Mitch Rapp #21) – Kyle Mills
56. Code Red (Mitch Rapp #22) – Kyle Mills

In a separate post, I also share a  recommendation list of my favourite titles from this list, along with some reading stats.

I’m eager to know your thoughts on the above list, your recommendations for your best books this past year, must-read titles you can’t stop recommending, or titles you look forward to reading this year. Did any of the book-pairing projects pique your interest? I’d love to hear your opinions. Drop your comments below for an extended discussion.

You can also follow this blog for regular updates on the books I’m reading and the hand-crafted projects I’m pairing with them. Click the ‘Follow’ button at top right or towards the bottom of this page.

You can also connect with me on my socials via linktr.ee/AshieJayn.

Here’s wishing all the dreams and aspirations we weave will guide us through another year of exhilarating adventures.
Wishing you love and light. Happy 2024!2024-01-01 HNY 2024bb

Top post on IndiBlogger, the biggest community of Indian BloggersTop post on Blogchatter
Note: This blogpost is a top post on Indiblogger.in and Blogchatter and has appeared on their homepages.

2 thoughts on “Keeping Pace with 2023 | #BrunchBookChallenge

  1. Pingback: Here’s Looking at you, Books | 2023 – Aquamarine Flavours

  2. Pingback: Obsessed with All Things Korean | 2023 – Aquamarine Flavours

Leave a comment