Obsessed with All Things Korean | 2023

Korean culture has become such an intrinsic part of my life that, as my family points out, there is no escaping anymore. My mother may have given me the Kdrama bug but it is me who got them hooked to the food, the music and the language (even if it is just a handful of expressions they can speak).

My family and I have turned into Korean foodies. Eating out is not enough. My mom and I have to try out new recipes every now and then. Attending offline classes at the Korean Cultural Centre over the last three months for my final semester had one great advantage: eating at Dalgrak Café which serves authentic Korean cuisine. My language course may be over but my membership is still valid so I can continue using the café (yay! for discount perks) and the KCCI library.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I completed my Korean language program from the King Sejong Institute in December. Learning Korean was one thing but being able to understand the scenes of a Kdrama without having to read subtitles is a joy that is absolutely unmatched.

I started sharing Kdrama/Kfilm reviews to my Instagram Stories a few years ago. A lot of people wrote to me saying it was difficult to find or access them, even though they were saved to Highlights. So, in the last two years I moved them to the Reels format. I post one new review every week which is still not fast enough to keep up with my list of completed Kdramas.

Last year I posted my first Kdrama recap of the year with a list of favourite, must watch Kdramas. And here I am, ready with the 2023 list of recommendations.

As you can see below, this is a collage of all 60 Kdramas, Kfilms, KVariety shows I watched in 2023. Below this is the list in alphabetical order, each title hyperlinked to my review of the same. Following this list are my recommendations for the ones I particularly enjoyed and highly recommend.. 

Korean Posters 2023 Landscape - Resized

  1. 6/45 (2022)
  2. Agency (2023)
  3. Black Knight (2023)
  4. Bo-ra! Deborah a.k.a True to Love (2023)
  5. Call it Love (2023)
  6. Celebrity (2023)
  7. Confidential Assignment (2017)
  8. Confidential Assignment 2: International (2022)
  9. Crash Course in Romance (2023)
  10. Crazy Love (2022)
  11. Curtain Call (2022)
  12. D.P. Season 2 (2023)
  13. Decision to Leave (2022)
  14. Delivery Man (2023)
  15. Divorce Attorney Shin (2023)
  16. Doctor Cha (2023)
  17. Doom at your Service (2021)
  18. Dr. Romantic (2016-)(Season1-3)
  19. Dream (2023)
  20. Emergency Declaration (2022)
  21. Finland Papa (2023)
  22. Fireworks of My Heart (2023) Cdrama
  23. Han River Police (2023)
  24. Hidden Love (2023) Cdrama
  25. Hunt (2022)
  26. Hwarang: The Poet Warrior Youth (2016)
  27. Jinny’s Kitchen (2023)
  28. Joseon Attorney: A Morality (2023)
  29. Juror 8 (2019)
  30. Killing Romance (2023)
  31. King The Land (2023)
  32. Love to Hate You (2023)
  33. May I Help You (2022)
  34. Mission Possible: Kidnapping Granny K (2007)
  35. Money Heist: Korea – Joint Economic Area (2022) (Season1-2)
  36. Bad (2022) Cdrama
  37. Old Enough Season2 (2023)
  38. Our Blooming Youth (2023)
  39. Poong, the Joseon Psychiatrist (2022)(Season1-2)
  40. Queenmaker (2023)
  41. Race (2023)
  42. Reborn Rich (2022)
  43. Recipe for Farewell (2022)
  44. Red Balloon (2022)
  45. See You in My 19th Life (2023)
  46. Stealer: The Treasure Keeper (2023)
  47. Summer Strike (2022)
  48. Switch (2023)
  49. Taxi Driver Season2 (2023)
  50. The Fabulous (2022)
  51. The First Responders (2022-)(Season1-2)
  52. The Forbidden Marriage (2022)
  53. The Glory (2022) (Season1-2)
  54. The Good Bad Mother (2023)
  55. The Interest of Love (2022)
  56. The Lady in Dignity (2017)
  57. The Point Men (2023)
  58. The Real Has Come (2023)
  59. The Secret Romantic Guesthouse (2023)
  60. Would You Like a Cup of Coffee? (2021)

From all of these dramas/movies/TV shows, I have shortlisted the titles that I truly enjoyed and thought were beyond compare. I am sharing these recommendations for your watchlist. For ease of reference, I have categorised these under the following heads:

1. Korean Dramas
2. Korean Films
3. Korean Variety Shows
4. Bonus

So, here are my recommendations in no particular order.

KOREAN FILMS:
A heart-breaking betrayal turns into the most heart-warming tale of redemption in this revenge drama. The narrative has a unique tenderness and there’s a certain charm in the subtle expressions and slow pace like a simmering of emotions under the surface.
 
Crash Course in Romance
 
This was like falling in love with your first kdrama – the sweet fluttering of first love, a nail-biting mystery, an exceptional cast of characters, and loads of tempting food. What else do you need?
 
DP S2
 
Season 2 of D.P., or Deserter Pursuit, explores some more themes of discrimination in the military, not only as a hazing practice but to limit political views, question morals, and curb artistic expression. Not the easiest thing to watch but important nonetheless in understanding compassion and sensitivity.
 
Doctor Cha
 
This was another buzzworthy drama with a unique lead pair and rib-tickling comedy. I loved how the drama maintained the soul of the story to the very end. I doubt anyone else could have pulled off the role of Dr. Cha as well as Uhm Jung-hwa. Her comedic timing was spot on.
 
Dr. Romantic S123 - Resized
What can I say about Dr. Romantic which just finished its third season and is already gearing up for a fourth. This is one of my evergreen dramas and holds pride of place on my recommendation list. If you’re a kdrama fan, this is a must watch.
 
Hwarang The Poet Warrior Youth
I had been holding back on Hwarang as general opinion stated this was quite underwhelming. While most historical kdramas are made around the Joseon Dynasty, this is set during the Silla Dynasty which was several hundred years before Joseon. With  an extraordinarily large cast of characters, not everyone could showcase their potential, but the drama had surprisingly great action, thrill and comedy. This definitely has my vote.
 
Love to Hate You
A Valentine’s Netflix release, this was a total surprise with its wonderful balance of romance, comedy and a little action on the side. You’ll root for both the lead pair and second lead couple but it’s really Kim Ji-hoon who steals the show here.
 
Queenmaker
 
A gripping political thriller about strong women fighting the good fight and choosing ethics over winning. This series showcases phenomenal performances by veteran actresses playing powerful and ambitious characters.
 
 
One of the most anticipated Kdramas this year, this was so successful it now stands in 2nd place for best cable TV dramas of all time. Reborn Rich has a well crafted story, minus the excessive gore as seen in recent revenge dramas, and a wonderful musical score. The winner, however, is the unusual, out-of-the-box finale that was executed brilliantly.
Red Balloon
 
This all-out melodrama showcasing the worst of family, friendships and trust, left me with mixed emotions about the direction the story took. Nonetheless, I cannot disregard the inexplicably addictive nature of this series. Totally binge-worthy.
 
Taxi Driver Season 2
Inspired from real-life heinous crimes in South Korea, this showcases members of a taxi company delivering vengeance to their clients who have been wronged and have no legal support for justice. The cases explored are not only heart-breaking in the pain the victims suffer but also terrifying in the cruelty they experience. An intense thriller with a strong storyline and amazing performances.
 
The First Responders - Resized
This started with barely any fanfare but turned out to be one of the most gripping crime-procedural Kdramas. This wins by a landmark margin in terms of the tight-knit story and casting. As for the romance, even though the drama does not have a pronounced romantic arc, just the sensation of it floating about like a whisper is enough to build tension between characters. 
 
The Glory
The Glory needs no introduction. This was the most talked about kdrama where Song Hye-kyo stunned viewers with her portrayal of a victim of torturous school violence who plans and exacts her revenge several years later. Not for the faint of heart, this shows excessive violence and gore, covers multiple trigger subjects, and is brimming with tension and suspense.
 
The Good Bad Mother
A mother’s desire for revenge through her son drives this compelling narrative with intensely passionate performances. A heart-wrenching roller-coaster with some equally delightful moments, and the most adorable child actors.
 
Lady in Dignity
 
This murder mystery surrounding two women – one hired as a caretaker, and the other her employer  – pits them opposite each other in a battle of social hierarchy, wealth and power. The suspense will keep you glued right until the last moment.
 
 
645 FilmKOREAN FILMS:
This Crash Landing on You-Lottery style film about a lottery ticket flying over the military demarcation line into North Korea is a fun and trendy comedy. Built on human experiences and desires, this leaves you with a feel-good impression.
 
 
These action comedies are a masterpiece with fabulously crafted fight and stunt sequences. The draw, though, is Hyun Bin and Yoo Hae-jin’s fabulous chemistry together and the comedy with Yoona’s unabashed adoration for Hyun Bin. The sequel introduces Daniel Henney to the mix who not only stands as a road-block in the duo’s path to their objective but also stirs the romantic pot.
 
Emergency Declaration
An aviation disaster-action thriller, this film – written well before the Corona Virus pandemic – predicted everything that was to hit the world. Even though it shows the the absolute worst of humanity when one’s survival is questioned, it becomes impossible to tear your eyes away from the screen for even a moment.
 
Juror 8
 
A most underrated gem, Juror 8 is an achingly beautiful film on how a jury’s personal situation may impact a verdict, and how that may bode for the person on trial. Examines ‘Innocent until proven guilty’ under new light.
 
Mission Possible- Kidnapping Granny K
 
When three kidnappers botch up an old women’s kidnapping, little do they expect to be outsmarted by their kidnappee. An uproariously fun film that will make you laugh till your sides hurt.
 
 
KOREAN VARIETY SHOW:
Jinny's Kitchen
Five Korean actors (Park Seo-jun, Lee Seo-jin, Jung Yu-mi, Choi Woo-shik, and Kim Tae-hyung a.k.a BTS’s V) head to Bacalar, Mexico to open a Korean street-food restaurant. It was delightful to see your favourite cast members running a kitchen. Highly advised to watch this show on a full stomach because it makes you drool. Also, be prepared to try your hand at replicating the dishes in your kitchen. Jung Yu-mi taught me how to make Gimbap and I can’t thank her enough.
 
 
BONUS: Here I am sharing some non-Korean Asian content I watched this year and couldn’t stop raving about.
Old Enough S02
A long-running Japanese Reality TV Series that follows toddlers between ages two and five on their first independent errands as a camera crew chases after them. The second season brings an interesting twist and is utterly delightful to watch.
 
Hidden Love
This was my first Chinese Drama after I saw my mom watching it and it has turned out to be an international sensation, much like the Chinese version of a Hallyu wave. Hidden Love is a super-cute, fluffy romance that treats love with all the respect it deserves. 
 
Fireworks of my Heart2
 
This has a Descendants of The Sun vibe with a firefighter and a doctor re-evaluating their decisions and hoping to find an amicable balance between the burden of filial piety and love. This was my favourite Chinese drama of the handful I’ve seen so far.

And so, this is it – my Korean recommendations from 2023. What do you think? Are there any I missed? Let me now in the comments so I can add them to my watchlist immediately.

I will continue to share my Korean reviews on Instagram Reels so do give me a follow there to see my latest posts. You can also connect with me on my socials via linktr.ee/AshieJayn.

Now that my recaps are all done, I’m off to add new Kdramas, and some Cdramas, to my watchlist and plan my calendar around them. Don’t forget to share your recommendations!

Have a wonderful year and may you get the opportunity to visit your favourite kdrama oppa, noona, eonnie, hyung, even if only in your dreams 😉!

새해 복 많이 받으세요! [Sae hae bok manhi badeuseyo]

Happy New Year!

Top post on IndiBlogger, the biggest community of Indian Bloggers
 
Note: This blogpost is a top post on Indiblogger.in and has appeared on their homepage.

Leave a comment