Treachery Times Two by Robert McCaw | Book Review

“Deceit. Koa focused on the word. A traitor was the ultimate deceiver. If he lied about his loyalty, he could lie about anything and everything. Everything about a traitor— every word he’d ever uttered— was suspect.”

On Hawaii Island, a volcanic earthquake disrupts an abandoned cemetery, unearthing the body of a woman mutilated by her killer.

The search for her identity leads Hilo Hawaii’s Chief Detective Koa Kāne to a defense contractor with a politically connected board of directors. Defying his chief of police, Koa pursues the killer, only to become entangled in an FBI espionage investigation of Deimos, a powerful secret military weapon.

At the same time, Koa—a cop who thirty years earlier killed his father’s nemesis and covered up the murder—faces exposure by the dead man’s grandson. Koa is forced to investigate his own homicide which threatens to unravel his cover-up, until another man is falsely accused. Will Koa stand by and let an innocent man pay for his crime?

1. Treachery Times Two

This book came to me via a publisher’s email and the two things to catch my attention were: 1. A thriller (I managed to read so few of them last year) and 2. A new author (I’m always excited about discovering a new, potentially favourite, writer).

I do have a long list of books I’m approved for on Netgalley which I’ve been saving to start reading in 2022 but I decided there’s nothing more fun than starting the year with a new author.

Treachery Times Two is the fourth book in the Koa Kāne Hawaiian mystery series. The author introduces the reader to Hawaii’s natural beauty and indigenous culture in this crackling mystery set in and around the Big Island.

Unlike most crime thrillers, this stands out for the protagonist’s conflict with himself. On one hand, as Chief Detective, Koa Kāne is tracking down a mysterious killer, while on the other he is covering up a thirty-year-old homicide he committed.

The book’s underlying theme is its exploration of two basic human traits. The first is human flaws. No one is perfect. Everyone has them but while some let their flaws define themselves, others strive to overcome them. Koa has turned his life around since that night thirty years ago but can the same be said for others?

Then there is the human compulsion to hide their misdeeds. Revealing this secret will take away everything Koa has built for himself and that is not something he is willing to give up. So he plays along, treading carefully in investigating the crime he committed.

Meanwhile, the FBI has swooped down on him to takeover his original investigation before he can dig into the mysterious defense contractor. Even though they agree to join forces, Koa is convinced the FBI is withholding information.

Robert McCaw builds suspense in this multi-layered plot by keeping the tension taut and adding the thrill of exploring an unforgiving landscape in the search for the killer. His characters, as flawed as they are, present a moral struggle so complex, it is impossible to choose sides.

Don’t let the fact that this is the fourth in a series deter you for it can well be read as a standalone. More importantly, at the end it will have piqued your curiosity enough to want to read the first three as well.

A rare find, I’d call this a culturally enriched thriller for the picturesque descriptions of Hawaii, its people, their history and traditions. That it comes with a nail-biting mystery is a double bonus.

Treachery Times Two (Koa Kāne #4) by Robert McCaw. Ebook published in January 2022 by Oceanview Publishing. This ARC courtesy of NetGalley and Oceanview Publishing.

Book 1 of 2022.

Aquamarine Flavours Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟1/2.

Available on Amazon*.

About Photo: For this book-pairing, I wanted to capture Hawaii, the setting for this book.
The Tiki Lanterns as well as the monstera leaves and palm fronds are hand-cut from 80gsm paper. The templates are by Lia Griffith.
1. Treachery Times Twob
About the Author: Robert McCaw grew up in a military family, traveling the world. He is a graduate of Georgetown University, served as a U.S. Army lieutenant, and earned a law degree from the University of Virginia. He was a partner in a major international law firm in Washington, D.C. and New York City. Having lived on the Big Island of Hawaii, McCaw’s writing is imbued by his more than 20-year love affair with this Pacific paradise. Treachery Times Two is the fourth in his Koa Kāne Hawaiian Mystery Series, following Death of a Messenger, Off the Grid, Fire and Vengeance.
He now lives in New York City with his wife, Calli.
You can connect with him on Facebook and Twitter.


Top post on IndiBlogger, the biggest community of Indian Bloggers

Note: This blogpost is a top post on and has appeared on their homepage.

*Disclosure: This post contains an affiliate link which means, at no additional cost to you, I will earn a small commission if you click through and make a purchase.


One thought on “Treachery Times Two by Robert McCaw | Book Review

  1. Pingback: Reminiscing about 2022 | #BrunchBookChallenge – Aquamarine Flavours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s