Ten Years and An Overdue Intervention | Winner for January 2019 Muse of the Month | Women’s Web

The first short story I have written this year is for Women’s Web’s Muse of the Month. As always, they bring back their successful monthly writing contest with a fresh perspective in 2019 (read about it here).

January 2019’s writing cue is these lines from the inspiring African-American writer Maya Angelou, taken from her poem Phenomenal Woman

Now you understand
Just why my head’s not bowed

maya-angelou-motm-cue-jan-2019

My story is titled Ten Years and An Overdue Intervention and has been selected as one of the five winning stories for this month.

It is about a young women who discovers her true ‘financial independence’ despite having been financially independent for a decade.

The story is published online at Women’s Web as a featured post and is available to read here.

the intervention - ashima jain (muse of the month - january 2019)

I imagine many women would relate to having experienced this at some point in their lives, as did I, in my professional surroundings, which is how I was inspired to write it.

Do take a few minutes to read the story and leave your feedback. Thank you!

Picture courtesy: womensweb.in

2 thoughts on “Ten Years and An Overdue Intervention | Winner for January 2019 Muse of the Month | Women’s Web

Leave a comment